TP7 Vernetzte Vulnerable Road Users

Connected Vulnerable
Road Users

Key Question

How can particularly vulnerable road users participate more safely in road traffic without protection and crumple zones?

How can this be achieved?

In order to reach the destination safely, vulnerable road users (VRU), such as pedestrians, cyclists and scooter drivers, will be protected by a networked traffic infrastructure.

Starting Point

Increasing traffic density, especially in cities, increases the dangers for all road users. The associated and increased risks of injury for Vulnerable Road Users (VRUs) must be countered by targeted measures.

Approach

One of these measures is the networking between VRUs and other road users such as vehicles, as well as traffic infrastructures such as traffic lights. One function implemented in RealLab provides collision warnings and includes a traffic light phase assistant. These applications have been implemented in smartphones, but also integrally in passenger cars. Their use increases the road safety of bicycles and scooters and improves the traffic flow for all road users. The project partners will test this networking in Hamburg in summer 2021.

Process

Concept
Coordination of the overall system and all interfaces.
Realisation
Implementation of the overall system and all interfaces.
Presentation
Presentation at the ITS World Congress in October 2021 with measurement and test results of the tested networking.
September 2020
April 2021
October 2021

Objective

Road users at particular risk receive a digital warning via their smartphone in dangerous situations or locations. Uniform interfaces and precise localization of the VRUs are of central importance for this. In addition, the information provided by the traffic lights will optimize route planning so that users can reach their destination more safely and quickly.

The Team

Andreas Greisser

Project manager Vehicle integration BMW

Ronald Hain

Growth Field Leiter Connected Solutions and Services Continental

Dr. Ilja Radusch

Head of Department Smart Mobility Fraunhofer-Institut FOKUS

Peter Christ

Project manager Digital Solution T-Systems

Project Partner

TP7 Vernetzte Vulnerable Road Users

Vernetzte Vulnerable
Road Users

Leitfrage

Wie können besonders verletzliche Verkehrsteilnehmer:innen ohne Schutz- und Knautschzonen dennoch sicherer am Straßenverkehr teilnehmen?

Wie kann das gelingen?

Um sicher ans Ziel zu kommen, werden in diesem Teilprojekt besonders gefährdete Verkehrsteilnehmer:innen – Vulnerable Road User (VRU) –, wie Fußgänger:innen, Rad- und Scooter-Fahrer:innen, durch eine vernetzte Verkehrsinfrastruktur besonders geschützt.

 

Ausgangslage

Durch die steigende Verkehrsdichte vor allem in Städten erhöhen sich auch die Gefahren für alle Verkehrsteilnehmer:innen. Den hiermit verbundenen und gestiegenen Verletzungsgefahren für Vulnerable Road Users (VRUs) muss durch gezielte Maßnahmen begegnet werden.

Ansatz

Eine dieser Maßnahmen ist die Vernetzung zwischen VRUs und anderen Verkehrsteilnehmer:innen wie Fahrzeugen, wie auch zu Verkehrsinfrastrukturen wie Ampeln. Eine im Reallabor erprobte Funktion gibt Kollisionswarnungen und beinhaltet einen Ampelphasenassistenten. Diese Applikationen sind im Smartphone, aber auch integral im PKW umgesetzt worden. Ihr Einsatz erhöht die Verkehrssicherheit von Fahrrädern und Scootern und verbessert den Verkehrsfluss für alle Verkehrsteilnehmer:innen. Die Projektpartner testen diese Vernetzung im Sommer 2021 in Hamburg.

Prozess

Konzeption
Abstimmung des Gesamtsystems und aller Schnittstellen.
Realisation
Umsetzung des Gesamtsystems und aller Schnittstellen.
Präsentation
Präsentation auf dem ITS World Congress im Oktober 2021 mit Mess- und Testergebnissen der erprobten Vernetzung.
September 2020
April 2021
Oktober 2021

Zielsetzung

Besonders gefährdete Verkehrsteilnehmer:innen empfangen in gefährlichen Situationen oder an unübersichtlichen Örtlichkeiten eine digitale Warnmeldung über ihr Smartphone. Von zentraler Bedeutung sind hierfür einheitliche Schnittstellen und eine präzise Lokalisierung der Vulnerable Road Users. Darüber hinaus wird durch die bereitgestellten Informationen der Ampelanlagen die Routenplanung optimiert, so dass die Nutzer:innen sicherer und schneller an ihr Ziel kommen. Eine umfangreiche Dokumentation der ersten Testergebnisse ist als Download erhältlich. 

Das Team

Andreas Greisser

Projektleiter Fahrzeugintegration BMW

Ronald Hain

Growth Field Leiter Connected Solutions and Services Continental

Dr. Ilja Radusch

Leiter des Geschäftsbereichs Smart Mobility Fraunhofer-Institut FOKUS

Peter Christ

Projektleiter Digital Solution T-Systems

Projektpartner

Logo Swarco