Mobilitätsbudget – Reallabor Hamburg

Mobility Budget

Key Question

What influence does an employer-financed mobility budget have on the mobility behavior of employees?

Objective

With the help of an app for multimodal journey use, companies provide their employees with an individual mobility budget for private and business purposes. The users can thus choose between different means of transport. Companies from Hamburg and the surrounding area are involved in the data collection to answer the research question.

Starting Point

In the implementation of the transformation of transport, innovative and sustainable mobility offers for companies are particularly important, as 54% of commuting journeys in Hamburg are still made by private car. In the case of business mobility, the share of car journeys is even higher at 68 % and far above the share of average motorized individual transport in Hamburg’s modal split. At 34 % of all journeys, those to work also account for the largest share of journey purposes in Hamburg (MiD 2017).

Particularly in urban areas, there is a wide range of mobility options for getting from A to B in addition to the private car. So far, these offers have mainly been used in a private context. However, an increasing demand for sustainable and flexible means of transport also creates room for new mobility concepts and alternatives to the current solutions in professional life.

In contrast to the classic offers of a job ticket or a company car, a mobility budget allows the free allocation and selection of means of transport and route segments. As a monthly sum in addition to the salary, provided by the company, the use of journeys can be individually planned and accounted for. In this way, employers actively support the switch to environmentally friendly means of transport and contribute to the transport turnaround.

Approach

This project explores the question of how the mobility behavior of working people could change in the long term with the help of an employer-financed mobility budget.

The idea: Companies provide employees with an individual monthly mobility budget for private and business trips. Employees can choose between different means of transport – from public transport to long-distance transport and city cycling to sharing services.

Employees manage their available mobility budget digitally via the hvv-m app and can select and book their connections independently. The app uses the basic technology of Bonvoyo, the mobility budget of Deutsche Bahn, and was specially tailored for the project in Hamburg.

To collect the data and answer the research question, Hamburg companies are being searched that introduce and provide hvv-m for at least 30 employees on a test basis. In order to offer employees sufficient opportunities, a minimum budget of 50.00 euros per month and employee is planned.

More at: www.hvv.de/de/hvv-m

Scientific Monitoring

In order to clarify the question of changes in mobility behavior, the project will be accompanied scientifically. Likewise, it is to be illuminated whether it is accepted as a valid alternative to the use of a company car or private car. The results will be presented at the ITS World Congress 2021 in Hamburg.

Process

Provision of the App
The mobility budget app hvv-m is provided and offers employees uncomplicated information, booking and billing of various mobility offers.
Implementation of the Accompanying Study
Participating Hamburg companies and their employees will be interviewed about their mobility behavior before, during and after using hvv-m.
Active Use of the App by Participating Companies.
During a 6-month period, employees test how hvv-m assists them in their daily mobility needs.
Presentation of Results at the ITS World Congress
The most important findings of the accompanying study on the mobility budget will be presented at the ITS World Congress 2021.
September, 2020
From March, 2021
From April, 2021
October, 2021

Results

The results of the scientific monitoring on the use of different mobility offers before and after the introduction of an employer-financed mobility budget should provide information on whether such a budget is helpful in switching from private transport to environmentally friendly means of transport and should therefore be pursued in the future. In the future, this can represent another aspect of improved, environmentally friendly and safe mobility through digitalization and automation and promote the exchange of all actors in the sector. In addition, in the long term, networking with other sub-projects of the RealLabHH, such as the Switch app from sub-project 1, could lead to increased and simplified use of public transport.

HHVM App-Screens – Reallabor Hamburg
hvvm

The Team

David Hoffmann

Project manager, Hamburger Hochbahn AG

Christina Röll

Mobility management, S-Bahn Hamburg GmbH

Alessa Schmidt

Mobility management, S-Bahn Hamburg GmbH

Philipp Ramspeck

Product management, Deutsche Bahn Connect GmbH

Project Partner

Associated Partner

Project Partner

Mobilitätsbudget – Reallabor Hamburg

Mobilitätsbudget

Leitfrage

Welchen Einfluss hat ein arbeitgeberfinanziertes Mobilitätsbudget auf das Mobilitätsverhalten von Angestellten?

Zielsetzung

Mithilfe einer App für die multimodale Fahrtennutzung stellen Unternehmen ihren Mitarbeitenden ein individuelles Mobilitätsbudget für private und geschäftliche Zwecke zur Verfügung. Die Nutzer:innen können so zwischen verschiedenen Verkehrsmitteln wählen. Für die Datenerhebung zur Beantwortung der Forschungsfrage sind Firmen aus Hamburg und dem Umland beteiligt.

Ausgangslage

Bei der Umsetzung der Verkehrswende sind innovative und nachhaltige Mobilitätsangebote für Unternehmen besonders wichtig, da immer noch 54% der Wege zur Arbeit in Hamburg mit dem privaten PKW zurückgelegt werden. Bei dienstlicher Mobilität ist der Anteil der Autofahrten mit 68% sogar noch höher und weit über dem Anteil des durchschnittlichen motorisierten Individualverkehrs im Modal-Split Hamburgs. Wege zur Arbeit machen in Hamburg mit 34% aller Wege außerdem den größten Anteil der Wegzwecke aus (MiD 2017).

Gerade in urbanen Räumen gibt es neben dem privaten PKW jedoch eine große Auswahlmöglichkeit aus verschiedensten Mobilitätsangeboten, um von A nach B zu kommen. Bisher werden diese Angebote vor allem im privaten Kontext genutzt. Dabei schafft eine steigende Nachfrage an nachhaltigen und flexiblen Fortbewegungsmitteln auch im Berufsleben Raum für neue Mobilitätskonzepte sowie Alternativen zu den aktuell gängigen Lösungen.

Gegenüber den klassischen Angeboten eines Jobtickets oder Dienstwagens ermöglicht ein Mobilitätsbudget die freie Einteilung und Auswahl der Fortbewegungsmittel und Streckenabschnitte. Als monatliche Summe neben dem Gehalt, von Unternehmen zur Verfügung gestellt, kann die Verwendung der Fahrten individuell geplant und verbucht werden. Somit unterstützen Arbeitgeber aktiv den Umstieg auf umweltfreundliche Verkehrsmittel und leisten einen Beitrag zur Verkehrswende.

Ansatz

Das vorliegende Projekt geht der Frage auf den Grund, wie sich das Mobilitätsverhalten berufstätiger Menschen mit Hilfe eines arbeitgeberfinanzierten Mobilitätsbudgets langfristig wandeln könnte.

Die Idee: Unternehmen stellen Mitarbeitenden ein individuelles monatliches Mobilitätsbudget für private und geschäftliche Fahrten zur Verfügung. Dabei können Mitarbeitende zwischen verschiedenen Verkehrsmitteln wählen – von ÖPNV über Fernverkehr und StadtRad bis hin zu Sharing-Diensten.

Über die App hvv-m verwalten Mitarbeitende ihr verfügbares Mobilitätsbudget auf digitalem Wege und können ihre Verbindungen selbstständig auswählen und buchen. Die App nutzt die grundlegende Technologie von Bonvoyo, dem Mobilitätsbudget der Deutschen Bahn, und wurde für das Projekt eigens für Hamburg zugeschnitten.

Zur Erhebung der Daten und Beantwortung der Forschungsfrage werden Hamburger Unternehmen gesucht, die hvv-m für mindestens 30 Mitarbeitende testweise einführen und bereitstellen. Um den Mitarbeitenden ausreichende Möglichkeiten zu bieten, ist ein Mindestbudget von 50,00 Euro pro Monat und Mitarbeitenden vorgesehen.

Mehr unter: www.hvv.de/de/hvv-m

Wissenschaftliche Begleitung

Um die Frage nach den Veränderungen des Mobilitätsverhaltens zu klären, wird das Projekt wissenschaftlich begleitet. Genauso soll beleuchtet werden, ob es als eine valide Alternative zur Nutzung eines Dienstwagens oder privaten PKW akzeptiert wird. Die Ergebnisse werden auf dem ITS Weltkongress 2021 in Hamburg vorgestellt.

Prozess

Bereitstellung der App
Die Mobilitätsbudget App hvv-m wird bereitgestellt und bietet Mitarbeitenden unkompliziert Auskunft, Buchung und Abrechnung verschiedener Mobilitätsangebote
Durchführung der Begleitstudie
Teilnehmende Hamburger Unternehmen und deren Mitarbeitenden werden zu ihrem Mobilitätsverhalten vor, während und nach der Nutzung von hvv-m befragt.
Aktive Nutzung der App durch teilnehmende Unternehmen
Während eines 6-monatigen Zeitraums testen die Mitarbeitenden, wie ihnen hvv-m im täglichen Mobilitätsbedarf zur Seite steht.
Ergebnisvorstellung auf dem ITS-Weltkongress
Die wichtigsten Erkenntnisse der Begleitstudie zum Mobilitätsbudget werden auf dem ITS-Weltkongress 2021 vorgestellt.
September, 2020
Ab März, 2021
Ab April, 2021
Oktober, 2021

Ergebnisse

Die Ergebnisse der wissenschaftlichen Begleitung zur Nutzung verschiedener Mobilitätsangebote vor und nach der Einführung eines arbeitgeberfinanzierten Mobilitätsbudgets sollen Auskunft darüber geben, ob ein solches Budget hilfreich beim Umstieg vom MIV zu umweltfreundlichen Verkehrsmitteln ist und somit in Zukunft weiterverfolgt werden sollte. Dies kann zukünftig einen weiteren Aspekt zu einer verbesserten, umweltfreundlichen und sicheren Mobilität durch Digitalisierung und Automatisierung darstellen und den Austausch aller Akteure in der Branche fördern. Zudem könnte langfristig eine Vernetzung mit weiteren Teilprojekten des RealLabHH, wie beispielsweise der Switch-App aus Teilprojekt 1 sinnvoll zur vermehrten und vereinfachten Nutzung öffentlicher Verkehrsmittel führen.

HVVM App-Screens – Reallabor Hamburg
hvvm

Das Team

David Hoffmann

Projektleitung, Hamburger Hochbahn AG

Christina Röll

Mobilitätsmanagement, S-Bahn Hamburg GmbH

Alessa Schmidt

Mobilitätsmanagement, S-Bahn Hamburg GmbH

Philipp Ramspeck

Produktmanagement, Deutsche Bahn Connect GmbH

Projektpartner

Assoziierte Partner

Projektpartner