Mobilitätsplattform – Reallabor Hamburg

Data Interaction
and Sovereignty

Key Question

How to enable the seamless integration of all mobility options in one application to create new and better travel options for citizens?

Objective

A planning app for door-to-door travel between Hamburg and Berlin will be realized as a demonstrator using the IDS / GAIA-X data sovereignty standard. This IDS based data space creates advantages for all stakeholders. Citizens benefit from improved travel options, mobility providers from new business opportunities.

Starting Point

For intermodal travel to be successful, a seamless integration of all mobility options in one user application is crucial. This requires data interoperability and data sharing between multiple platforms and mobility providers, who have been so far reluctant to share their data, sometimes for fear of competitive disadvantages.

Approach

The creation of a Mobility Data Space (MDS) enables the exchange of data between different actors while ensuring data sovereignty, the right to have control over one’s data. The International Data Spaces (IDS) standard, DIN SPEC 27070, is used for this purpose. As a result, similar to the telephone network, a network for secure n:n data exchange is created among authorised participants who commit to a certain membership conduct. It will include the following components:

  1. A demonstrator with user interface for an intermodal travel planning application or widget as a plug-and-play module for existing provider apps (B2B).
  2. An IDS-based data link layer as a prototypical mobility data space.
  3. New value-added data services to link the app with the data space.

Process

Business Model Variants
Business model variants will be developed and compared in order to be able to develop the demonstrator envisaged in the project into a marketable product in a timely manner after the end of the project. The development is carried out in 2 iterations.
Milestone 2: Design of Application (App) with Connection Layer
Via the connection layer, existing mobility services are interconnected to allow for the orchestration of better offerings. The design will be compliant with GAIA-X and IDSA principles in order to develop a mobility solution that can scale nationwide or even pan-European.
Milestone 3: Extension of the Connectivity Layer for Mobility
Adapt and complement the IDS approach to take into account the specific requirements of the mobility sector, including local public transport, micro-mobility services such as e-scooters as well as on-demand / autonomous shuttles.
Milestone 4: Advanced Smart Mobility Demonstrator
The results are realized as a demonstrator for proof of concept. It will feature a graphical user interface for consumers to allow for limited intermodal trip planning interaction in order to make the benefits of IDS technology more accessible.
April 2021 (1st iteration), October 2021 (2nd iteration)
May 2021
September 2021
October 2021

Results

“Intermodal Travel” planning demonstrator as a Mobility Data Space application.

A seamless integration of all mobility options in one user application supports the modal shift away from MIT towards the creation of environmentally friendly modes of transportation. This helps to significantly reduce CO2 emissions in addition to improving individual mobility. Users benefit from a central app as an easy-to-use access point to all mobility options. This enables a convenient linking of different means of transportation. The end result is flexible and personalized mobility with the greatest possible variety of offers. Mobility providers tap into new customer groups and new business because of new offers and an expansion of service features, such as comfort options. The resulting differentiation of offers can create opportunities for higher margins and stronger customer loyalty. Providers can share their data securely and integrate it cost-effectively because of the open European standard.

Prototyp
Prototype and Demonstrator (B2C Surface)
Prototyp – Reallabor Hamburg
Demonstrator (B2B Surface)

The Team

Prof. Dr. Chris Schlueter Langdon

Deutsche Telekom IoT

Dr. Gadi Lenz

Urban Software Institute GmbH, Chief Scientist

Stephan Borgert

Urban Software Institute GmbH, Research Coordinator

Project Partner

Hamburger Bahnhof mit Menschen auf elektrischer Treppe

Dateninteraktion
und Souveränität

Leitfrage

Wie kann eine nahtlose Integration aller Mobilitätsoptionen in einer Anwendung gelingen, um neue, bessere Reisekonzepte für Bürger:innen zu schaffen?

Zielsetzung

Es wird ein Tür-zu-Tür-Reiseangebot zwischen Hamburg und Berlin als Demonstrator mit dem IDS / GAIA-X Datensouveränitätsstandard realisiert. Dieser IDS / GAIA-X basierte Datenraum schafft Vorteile für alle Akteure: Bürger:innen profitieren von verbesserten Reisemöglichkeiten, Mobilitätsanbieter von neuen Geschäftsmöglichkeiten.

Ausgangslage

Um das Potenzial des intermodalen Reisens zu heben, ist eine nahtlose Integration aller Mobilitätsoptionen in einer Benutzeranwendung entscheidend. Diese Anwendung erfordert Dateninteroperabilität und einen Datenaustausch zwischen mehreren Anbietern, wie zum Beispiel verschiedener Plattformen und Mobilitätsanbieter, die bisher kaum bereit sind, ihre Daten zu teilen, auch aus Angst vor Wettbewerbsnachteilen.

Ansatz

Die Schaffung eines Datenraums Mobilität (DRM) ermöglicht den Datenaustausch zwischen verschiedenen Akteuren bei Gewährleistung der Datensouveränität. Hierzu wird der IDS Standard, DIN SPEC 27070, eingesetzt. Im Ergebnis entsteht ähnlich dem Telefonnetz ein Netzwerk für den sicheren n:n Datenaustausch unter zugelassenen Teilnehmern, die sich zu einem bestimmten Mitgliedsverhalten verpflichten. Basierend auf dem IDS Standard (International Data Spaces unter Federführung der Fraunhofer Gesellschaft) sollen folgende Komponenten entstehen:

  1. Ein Demonstrator mit Bedienoberfläche für eine intermodale Reiseanwendung als Plug-and-Play Modul für bestehende Apps (B2B)
  2. Eine IDS-basierte Datenverbindungsschicht als prototypischer Mobilitätsdatenraum
  3. Neue Datenmehrwertdienste zur Verknüpfung der App mit dem Datenraum

Prozess

Geschäftsmodell-Varianten
Verschiedene Geschäftsmodell-Varianten werden entwickelt und gegenübergestellt, um nach Projektende den im Projekt angestrebten Demonstrator zeitnah zu einem marktfähigen Produkt ausbauen zu können. Die Entwicklung wird in 2 Iterationen vorgenommen.
Meilenstein 2: Architektur Verbindungsschicht mit Anwendung (App)
Über die Verbindungsschicht werden bestehende Mobilitätsangebote miteinander zu neuen Mehrwertdiensten vernetzt. Die Architektur wird gemäß GAIA-X und IDSA Prinzipien entwickelt, um so eine Mobilitätslösung zu entwickeln, die auch bundesweit oder gar paneuropäisch skaliert.
Meilenstein 3: Erweiterung der Verbindungsschicht für Mobilität
Anpassung und Ergänzung der IDS Ansätze, um den besonderen Anforderungen des Wertschöpfungsnetzwerks Mobilität Rechnung zu tragen, vom Öffentlichen Personennahverkehr bis zu Mikromobilitätsangeboten wie E-Scootern, On-Demand / autonomen Shuttles.
Meilenstein 4: Advanced Smart Service Demonstrator
Die Ergebnisse werden als Demonstrator zum Proof of Concept realisiert. Mit den Demonstratoren wird die Benutzung der Advanced Smart Services mittels User Interfaces zur Benutzung durch Kunden ertüchtigt.
April 2021 (1. Iteration),
Oktober 2021 (2. Iteration)
Mai 2021
September 2021
Oktober 2021

Ergebnisse

Demonstrator Datenraum Mobilität für den Use Case „Intermodales Reisen“

Eine nahtlose Integration aller Mobilitätsoptionen in einer Benutzeranwendung unterstützt langfristig den Modalshift weg von MIV hin zur Schaffung eines Umweltverbundes und hilft neben einer Verbesserung der Mobilität auch die CO2-Emissionen im Verkehrssektor deutlich zu senken. Mobilitätsnutzer:innen profitieren von einer zentralen App als übersichtlichen Zugangspunkt zu allen Mobilitätsoptionen, die eine bequeme Verkettung verschiedener Verkehrsmittel ermöglicht. Am Ende entsteht eine flexible und personalisierte Mobilität mit größtmöglicher Angebotsvielfalt. Mobilitätsanbieter erschließen sich neue Kundengruppen und Neugeschäft wegen neuer Angebote und Angebotsausweitung. Die damit einhergehende Angebotsdifferenzierung erzeugt Mehrwertmargen und stärkere Kundenbindung. Die Anbieter können ihre Daten sicher teilen und kostengünstig integrieren wegen des offenen Europäischen Standards.

Prototyp – Reallabor Hamburg
Prototyp und Demontstrator (B2C-Oberfläche)
Prototyp – Reallabor Hamburg
Demonstrator (B2B-Oberfläche)

Das Team

Prof. Dr. Chris Schlueter Langdon

Deutsche Telekom IoT

Dr. Gadi Lenz

Urban Software Institute GmbH, Chief Scientist

Stephan Borgert

Urban Software Institute GmbH, Research Coordinator

Projektpartner