Autonomes Fahren – Reallabor Hamburg

Autonomous Driving

Key Question

Do driverless on-demand shuttles on the "first and last mile" in a networked overall system lead to greater acceptance of public transport?

Objective

The development of suburban areas with an autonomously operated on-demand service for an improved connection to the existing public transport system. The central objective of the RealLabHH project is to provide recommendations for environmentally and climate-friendly mobility concepts. The results will be presented at the ITS World Congress 2021 in Hamburg.

Starting Point

The Hamburg district of Bergedorf offers the ideal conditions for putting autonomous driving through its paces. The suburban region with around 36,000 inhabitants has to meet a high demand for individual and seamless mobility and has to be connected to the region’s S-Bahn. The district which is already very well connected to public transport, will close gaps in the first and last mile between home and the next public transport stop with the additional service. From August to October 2021, they will travel at 18 km/h through Bergedorf. The vehicles offer space for 12 passengers as well as a VHH vehicle attendant. They monitor the automated journey and can intervene if necessary. The shuttles will be bookable in an on-demand service via an app, with the shuttle routes being put together according to passenger requests and not following a predefined route. Passengers can ride in the shuttles free of charge during the trial operation.

Approach

The field test and deployment of shuttle prototypes in the sub-urban area of a metropolis with the aim of evaluating behavioral changes and acceptance of autonomous on-demand operation on the “first and last mile” in public transport. Another aspect of the approach is the focus on the technology required for the safe and comfortable operation of such vehicles. The DEKRA Technology Center accompanies the approval process of the vehicles with independent expertise and ensures the safety of the passengers.

The project will be carried out as a three-month trial operation in a real-life application during the ITS World Congress in Hamburg. Up to three prototype vehicles from the manufacturer EasyMile will be used, accompanied by security and observation personnel. VHH is responsible for the operation in the project; it provides the personnel and coordinates the operational process.

The back-end systems for planning the routes, integration into the regular service, user administration as well as communication with the shuttles are provided by DLR, Continental Automotive and EasyMile.

The test fleet will be bookable via an app developed by Continental Automotive. The demand-driven routes of the shuttles will be calculated by DLR and integrated as intermodal connection proposals into the scheduled services of the Hamburg public transport system (HVV).

Process

Hardware Setup
The final hardware setup is functionally integrated in vehicle 1 and the final homologation begins. The connection to the VHH control center is established and the setup of vehicles 2 and 3 begins.
Completion of Vehicle Construction
Completion of the assembly of all vehicles and start of the "on-demand" tests and homologation of the track areas in Hamburg.
Launch of Autonomous Shuttles
Commissioning of the vehicles and services for passengers. Start of the 3-month operation in Hamburg.
January 2021
May 2021
August 2021

Results

  • First demand-responsive area transport with an automated shuttle fleet, integrated into the classic public transport system
  • Creation of a prototypical control center workstation for remote control operations for automated vehicles in local public transport
  • Evaluation of behavioral changes and acceptance of an autonomous on-demand operation on the “first and last mile” in public transport

The Team

Dr. Andree Hohm

Head of Autonomous Driving Program Continental

Autonomous Driving

Anke Sauerländer-Biebl

Research assistant DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Autonomous Driving

Qinrui Tang

Research assistant DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Autonomous Driving

Eric Neidhardt

Research assistant DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Autonomous Driving

Annika Dreßler

Research assistant DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Autonomous Driving

Louis Touko Tcheumadjeu

Research assistant DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Autonomous Driving

Elmar Brockfeld

Research assistant DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Autonomous Driving

Carmen Kettwich

Research assistant DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Autonomous Driving

David Suske

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Autonomous Driving

Alexander Sohr

Research assistant DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Patrick Fischer

Verkehrsbetriebe Hamburg Holstein GmbH

Autonomous Driving

Sarah Kern

EasyMile GmbH

Contact us

Would you like to learn more about the project? Write us at:  emoin@vhhbus.de

Project Partner

Autonomes Fahren – Reallabor Hamburg

Autonomes Fahren

Leitfrage

Führen fahrerlose On-Demand-Shuttles auf der "ersten und letzten Meile" in einem vernetzten Gesamtsystem zur größeren Akzeptanz von ÖPNV?

Zielsetzung

Erschließung des suburbanen Raums mit einem autonom betriebenen On-Demand-Angebot zur verbesserten Anbindung an den bestehenden ÖPNV. Zentrales Ziel des Projektes RealLabHH sind Handlungsempfehlungen für umwelt- und klimagerechte Mobilitätskonzepte. Die Ergebnisse werden auf dem ITS-Weltkongress 2021 in Hamburg präsentiert.

Ausgangslage

Der Hamburger Stadtteil Bergedorf bietet die idealen Bedingungen, um das autonome Fahren auf Herz und Nieren zu testen. Die suburbane Region mit rund 36.000 Einwohnern muss einer hohen Nachfrage nach individueller und lückenloser Mobilität nachkommen und an die S-Bahn der Region angebunden sein. Der schon heute sehr gut an den ÖPNV angebundene Stadtteil wird durch den zusätzlichen Service Lücken auf der ersten und letzten Meile zwischen Wohnort und der nächsten Haltestelle des ÖPNV schließen. Von August bis Oktober 2021 werden sie mit 18 km/h durch Bergedorf fahren. Die Fahrzeuge bieten Platz für 12 Fahrgäste sowie eine Fahrzeugbegleitung der VHH. Diese überwacht die automatisierte Fahrt und kann bei Bedarf ins Geschehen eingreifen. Die Shuttles werden in einem On-Demand-Service über eine App buchbar sein, wobei die Shuttlerouten nach Anfragen der Fahrgäste zusammengestellt werden und keiner vordefinierten Linie folgen. Fahrgäste können während des Versuchsbetriebs kostenlos in den Shuttles mitfahren.

Ansatz

Feldversuch und Einsatz von Shuttle-Prototypen im Randraum (sub-urban) einer Metropole mit Ziel der Evaluation von Verhaltensänderungen und Akzeptanz eines autonomen On-Demand-Betriebes auf der “Ersten und Letzten Meile“ im ÖPNV sowie Fokus auf Technologie, die zum sicheren und komfortablen Betreiben solcher Fahrzeuge notwendig ist. Das DEKRA Technology Center begleitet den Zulassungsprozess der Fahrzeuge mit unabhängiger Expertise und sorgt mit für die Sicherheit der Fahrgäste.
Durchgeführt wird das Projekt als dreimonatiger Versuchsbetrieb im realen Anwendungsfall während des ITS Weltkongresses in Hamburg. Zum Einsatz kommen dabei bis zu drei Prototypenfahrzeuge des Herstellers EasyMile, die von Sicherheits- und Beobachtungspersonal begleitet werden. Die VHH ist in dem Projekt für den Betrieb verantwortlich; sie stellt das Personal und koordiniert den Betriebsablauf.

Die Backendsysteme zur Planung der Routen, Integration in den Linienverkehr, Benutzerverwaltung sowie Kommunikation mit den Shuttles werden vom DLR, Continental Automotive und EasyMile bereitgestellt.

Die Versuchsflotte wird über eine von Continental Automotive entwickelte App buchbar sein. Die nachfragegesteuerten Routen der Shuttle werden vom DLR berechnet und als intermodale Verbindungsvorschläge in die liniengebundenen Verkehre des Hamburger Verkehrsverbundes (HVV) eingebunden.

Prozess

Hardware Setup
Das finale Hardware Setup ist funktionsfähig in Fahrzeug 1 integriert und die finale Homologation beginnt. Die Verbindung zum VHH Kontroll-Zentrum wird eingerichtet und der Aufbau der Fahrzeuge 2 und 3 beginnt.
Abschluss Aufbau Fahrzeuge
Abschluss des Aufbaus aller Fahrzeuge und Start der „on-demand“ Tests und Homologation der Streckenbereiche in Hamburg.
Start Autonome Shuttles
Inbetriebnahme der Fahrzeuge und Services für Fahrgäste. Start des den 3-monatigen Betriebes in Hamburg.
Januar 2021
Mai 2021
August 2021

Ergebnisse

  • Erster bedarfsgesteuerter Flächenverkehr mit automatisiert fahrender Shuttle-Flotte, integriert in den klassischen ÖPNV
  • Erstellung eines prototypischen Leitstellenarbeitsplatzes für Romote-Control-Operationen für automatisiert fahrende Fahrzeuge im ÖPNV
  • Evaluation von Verhaltensänderungen und Akzeptanz eines autonomen On-Demand Betriebes auf der “ersten und letzten Meile“ im ÖPNV

Das Team

Dr. Andree Hohm

Head of Autonomous Driving Program Continental

Autonomes Fahren

Anke Sauerländer-Biebl

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Autonomes Fahren

Qinrui Tang

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Autonomes Fahren

Eric Neidhardt

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Autonomes Fahren

Annika Dreßler

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Autonomes Fahren

Louis Touko Tcheumadjeu

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Autonomes Fahren

Elmar Brockfeld

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Autonomes Fahren

Carmen Kettwich

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Autonomes Fahren

David Suske

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Autonomes Fahren

Alexander Sohr

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik

Patrick Fischer

Verkehrsbetriebe Hamburg Holstein GmbH

Autonomes Fahren

Sarah Kern

EasyMile GmbH

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Sie möchten mehr über das Projekt erfahren? Schreiben Sie uns an: emoin@vhhbus.de

Projektpartner